The Department of Communication held its 2009 Scholarship Awards Ceremony in Communications 120 on May 7. About $70,000 in scholarship money was awarded to the 26 recipients.

The presenters were:

  • Assunta Ng, 1974 and 1979 alumna, President and Publisher, NW Asian Weekly
  • Sally Hanson, Scholarship Chair, Northwest Automotive Press Association
  • Lisa Coutu, Department of Communication
  • Florangela Davila, Department of Communication
  • Mike Henderson, Department of Communication
  • George Riddell, President and Sponsorship Chair, Ad Club Seattle
  • Anthony Giffard, Department of Communication

Northwest Asian Weekly Scholarship

Vivian Luu

Northwest Automotive Press Association Scholarship

Lillian Tucker

Excellence in Journalism

Chantal Anderson

Journalism Foreign Intrigue Endowed Scholarship

Chantal Anderson
madelyn_fairbanksMadelyn Fairbanks
kristin-okinakaKristin Okinaka
judy-vueJudy Vue

Harold E. Carr Scholarship in Communication

Taryn Hall

Seattle Times/Blethen Family Memorial Scholarship

Jenica Rhee
sepideh_behzadpourSepideh Behzadpour

John H. & Harriet Reid Memorial Scholarship

Christian Caple

Marty Wilson Endowed Scholarship

Katelin Chow

Robert F. Philip Scholarship

Emily Anne Eggers
carol-keumCarol Keum
christina-nghiemChristina Nghiem
kendra-hallKendra Hall

Don Pember Journalism Endowed Scholarship

Sarah Cox

Cassie Lawrence Bryant Endowed Scholarship

Sarah Cox

Bob Doble Memorial Scholarship

katie_schmidt2Katie Schmidt

Max and Monica Holsinger Scholarship

jaren-trostJaren Trost

Fred Baker Endowment for Professional Education in Advertising and Public Relations

shauna-nucklesShauna Nuckles

Roller Scholarship in Communication

katherine-gruverKatherine Gruver

Dan Warner/Bob Willey Memorial Scholarship

marsha-olsonMarsha Olson
jay-timpaniJay Timpani

Kevin Ellis Endowed Scholarship

Jane Austin
alyssa-goldberg-162Alyssa Goldberg

Ruddick C. & Cherry Lawrence Endowed Scholarship

Serene Careaga
parisa-sadrzadehParisa Sadrzadeh



The Department of Communication held its undergraduate Excellence in Communication Awards in Kane Hall 210 on May 28.

Jody Deering Nyquist Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Research

angeline_candido2Angeline Candido“Seattle Freeze”Communication and Culture
margitte_kristjanssonMargitte Kristjansson “The Fat Suit”Rhetoric and Critical Studies
nancy_phamNancy Pham“Don’t Sell Your Children”International Communication

Pioneer Newspapers Excellence in Journalism Awards

Opinion journalism: Catherine Daley
sarah_jeglumVisual journalism: Sarah Jeglum
Legislative journalism: Madelyn Fairbanks
will_mariCommunity journalism: Will Mari 
devon_millsFeature journalism: Devon Mills
Diversity journalism: Sasha London
page_levelDigital journalism: Page Level 
scott_nordquistEnvironmental journalism: Scott Nordquist
Global journalism: Brandon Schlepp

Jody Deering Nyquist Awards for Excellence in Public Speaking

matthew_elamparoMatthew Elamparo (Winner)
“An Argument in Favor of Public School Option for a Four-Day School Week”
jocelyn_maher3Jocelyn Maher“An Argument in Favor of Using Economic Diversity as a Tie-Breaker in Seattle Public School Assignments”
anastacia_davisAnastacia Davis“An Argument in Opposition to a Public School Option for a Four-Day School Week”

Deborah Kaplan Awards