Celebration of Excellence 2011

The Department of Communication held its 2011 Celebration of Excellence in CMU 120 on May 26.

Scholarships & Scholarship Recipients

Journalism Foreign Intrigue Scholarship

Imogen Janelle Kohnert  kohnert
Alexis (Lexie) Krell  krell3
David Krueger krueger3
Nicholas Visser  visser

Fred Baker Endowment for Professional Education in Advertising and Public Relations

Katharine Gruver gruver2
Wanita Wong wong

Don Pember Journalism Endowed Scholarship

Derrick De Vera devera

Cassie Lawrence Bryant Endowed Scholarship

Meredith Stager

Northwest Asian Weekly Scholarship

Sabrina Squires squires

Northwest Automotive Press Association Scholarship

Sean Duncan duncan

Harold E. Carr Scholarship in Communication

Lucas Anderson anderson-lucas

Seattle Times / Blethen Family Memorial Scholarship

Erin Acacio acacio
Daron Anderson anderson
Almeera Anwar anwar
Marissa Loew

Robert F. Philip

Lydia Albert  albert
Erin Flemming  flemming
Lindsey Hall hall
Ilona Idlis  Ilona headshot 100x133
Allison Int-Hout  int-hout2
Matthew Sackman sackman

Bob Doble Memorial

Katelin Chow  kat chow

Max and Monica Holsinger

Shane Sherod-Clyburn sherod-clyburn

Kevin Ellis

Charlotte Anthony
Lanhe Shan  shan

Reid Roller

Tara Tabares  tabares

Dan Warner/Bob Willey Memorial

Alexander Diaz  diaz
Eugenia Jacobsen jacobsen

Ruddick C. & Cherry Lawrence

Lauren Marriott marriott2
Claire Palay palay
Amanda Zurita  zurita

Robert L. Patterson

Tammy Lee
Lauren Elizabeth Mitchell mitchell
Ashley Nicole Russell russell
Natalie Sun  sun

John Impola

Emmaline McGraw

Flip Wilson Memorial

Krista DeFils defils

John H. & Harriet Reid Memorial

Colin Gorenstein gorenstein
Nicholas Visser  visser2

Marty Wilson

Azusa Uchikura uchikura

Professor Pat Cranston

Meredith Conley  conley

Jody Deering Nyquist Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Research

Joseph Sanders
Title: “In Pursuit of Self in the Online Age: The Facebook Identity Act Sequence as a Means of Creating and Maintaining Social Identity”
Area: Social Interaction
Team: Katie Schmidt, Matt Lai, Joel Springer
Title: “Use of Online Activation and Mobilization Strategies by Pro- and Anti-Climate Change Policy Advocacy Groups
Area: Technology and Society

Pioneer Newspapers Excellence in Journalism Awards

Community Journalism:  Allison Int-Hout

Design and Editing:  Allyson Balansay

Entrepreneurial Journalism:  Allison Barrett

Legislative Reporting: Katie Schmidt

Opinion Writing: Stephannie Stokes

Specialized Reporting (Environment): Meghan Walker

Specialized Reporting (Global Health): Rachel Solomon

Jody Deering Nyquist Awards for Excellence in Public Speaking

Watch a short clip of the winning speakers.


First: Joshua Lee

Second: Ann Trigg

Third: Xinyi Xing

Fourth: Melissa Croce

Fifth: Evan Seguirant

Sixth: Ashley Koempel


Thank you to our judges

Public Speaking Judges

Peg Achterman
Christine Harold
Rebecca Clark
Sue Lockett John
Meara Faw
Karen Rathe
Chris Gamble
Dru Williams

Pioneer Awards Judges

Joni Balter, The Seattle Times
Mike Henderson, Department of Communication
Usha Lee McFarling, Department of Communication
Jessica Partnow, Common Language Project
Karen Rathe, Department of Communication
Jim Simon, The Seattle Times
Joanne Silberner, Department of Communication
Alex Stonehill, Common Language Project
Sarah Stuteville, Common Language Project