UW COM Students and Faculty Honored by SPJ Western Washington

The Society of Professional Journalists Western Washington announced eight gala award winners and four scholarship winners for 2017. Honorees include one Department faculty member, one graduate alumna, and at least three current Communication students from the UW.

The Evergrey, founded late last year by Communication Leadership alumna, Mónica Guzmán, will receive a 2017 Innovation Award.

SPJ Western Washington will recognize the University of Washington’s Andrea Otanez as Journalism Educator of the Year.

SPJ Western Washington also continues to fund $12,000 in scholarship and grant support. The 2017 scholarship and grant winners are Elizabeth Alvarado (UW), Rhiannon Berg (PLU), Lyndsey Brollini (UW), and Enrique Pérez de la Rosa (UW). All the UW students recently received scholarship and Celebration of Excellence awards from the Department.

SPJ Western Washington will honor all recipients at SPJWash’s 2017 end-of-season party on June 5.