Chantal Anderson wins Dick Larsen Scholarship

Chantal Anderson is the winner of the 2009 Washington News Council Dick Larsen Scholarship. Anderson is a UW senior who is majoring in journalism and international studies with a minor in Spanish. The WNC awarded two $2,000 scholarships to Washington…

Students in Florangela Davila’s spring 2009 special reporting topics class designed and reported for In:Site, a student publication dedicated to providing interesting, relevant and insightful arts and culture news.

Kathy Gill’s spring 2009 digital journalism class created a multimedia web site that explores The Future of News. The students also created individual stories on a topic of their choice.

Department part of ‘Dialoguing Difference’ event

Congratulations to Manoucheka Celeste and to everyone else who participated in the first annual “Dialoguing Difference” conference, put on by the UW Women of Color Collective on June 5. A number of professors and researchers from across the U.S. presented….

Simpson Center Dissertation Fellowship Award

Madhavi Murty received a 2009-2010 Simpson Center Dissertation Fellowship Award for Textures of Representation: Stories of Neoliberalism and the Gendered Subaltern in Postcolonial India.

Fritz Fellowship

Tabitha Hart received a 2009 Fritz Fellowship to support her research in Communication. The Fellowship comes from the Chester Fritz endowment, which was established to support international study or research by UW graduate students in the social sciences and humanities.

Mortar Board Madeline Jones Campbell Scholar

Manoucheka Celeste is the Mortar Board Alumni/Tolo Foundation’s 2009-2010 Mortar Board Madeline Jones Campbell Scholar. Mortar Board is the oldest continuing national honor society of the University of Washington campus and recognizes outstanding scholarship, leadership and service in graduate and…

More Articles