Students are required to take a minimum of 15 credits in one conceptual area of emphasis in the department’s undergraduate program. There are three areas of study, as listed below. Courses in the journalism area are listed in a separate section detailing the journalism program. Click on any of the areas to see a list of courses for that area.

If you were admitted to the major before Autumn 2014, the areas differed slightly. Please click here.