This group of awards is decided by nomination by faculty; students cannot apply for receipt. Here is more information about each award:

Deborah Kaplan Awards for Narrative Journalism
Gordon Kaplan created the Deborah Kaplan Awards to honor the work and legacy of his sister and Communication professor Deborah Kaplan. Kaplan was an innovative journalist and educator who had a long history of writing about social issues. In both of her careers, as a journalist and as a university professor, she used in-depth interviews, immersion reporting, and field work to document and detail the human condition. The Deborah Kaplan Awards are given annually to support outstanding undergraduate work in narrative journalism.

Faculty Awards for Outstanding Completed Research: Honors Thesis

Alumnus Peter Clarke is a world-renowned professor and researcher in the area of health communication who has invested in our graduate and undergraduate students in all kinds of ways. Clarke and the Department of Communication created the Faculty Awards for Outstanding Completed Research to provide support and honor for students who have completed research projects. The set of awards include four categories: an undergraduate honors thesis, an M.A. thesis, an M.C. project, and a Ph.D. dissertation.

Fred Baker Ethics Award
Colleagues and family of Fred E. Baker established the Fred Baker Ethics Award to honor the memory of Baker. This award identifies students who embody this long-time Seattle advertising executive’s commitment to ethical practice, leadership, and civic engagement – both inside and outside the classroom. The Department gives out five awards annually.

Jody Deering Nyquist Awards for Excellence in Public Speakingand for Excellence in Undergraduate Research
Jody Deering Nyquist is Associate Dean Emerita of the UW Graduate School and an emerita member of the graduate faculty of the UW Department of Communication. Receiving both her undergraduate and graduate degrees at the University of Washington, Jody has been a faculty member since 1969. In 2005, Nyquist was inducted into the inaugural class of the Department of Communication’s Alumni Hall of Fame, and in 2014 was selected the Department’s Distinguished Alumna. Nyquist and the University of Washington Department of Speech Communication (now part of the Department of Communication) established this set of annual awards for undergraduate students who have demonstrated excellence in the study of communication, public speaking, and original research.

Jody Deering Nyquist awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Research
See description above.

Pioneer News Group Excellence in Journalism Awards
Pioneer News Group is a family-owned, multimedia company committed to advancing and empowering the communities it serves by providing essential information and services as a trusted and indispensable public resource. In partnership with Pioneer News Group and as a result of their generous support of Journalism studies at the UW, the Department gives annual awards in the following categories: Opinion journalism, visual journalism, legislative journalism, community journalism, feature journalism, diversity journalism, digital journalism, environmental journalism, and global journalism.